Telling the truth about SME life today

Ben Good, the finance and commercial director of biofuels technology company D1 Oils, has been appointed chief executive officer of the firm in addition to his current responsibilities. He replaces Elliott Mannis. The changes follow the closure of D1 Oils’ refining and trading operations earlier in the year.

Jerry Elliott has been appointed chief financial officer of Virgin Media. Elliott will take up his new role on 5 January 2009. He was most recently chief operating officer and CFO of Cengage Learning, an educational print and electronic publisher. Elliott takes over from Charles Gallagher, a former Virgin Media board member, who has been handling CFO duties on an interim basis during the search for a permanent appointment.

Rachel English has resigned as chief financial officer of Gasol. She has been replaced on an interim basis by James Ward, who is the CEO of Whalerock Chartered Accountants. Whalerock has been the gas company’s accounting firm since October 2007.

Sue Bygrave has been appointed group finance director of Stanelco, the bioplastics and radio frequency technology business. She will join the company on 5 January 2009. Previously, Bygrave was group FD of VEGA, the specialist professional services group. She replaces Clive Warner.

Efraim Bazia has resigned as finance director of media company iPoint. Bazia is the chief financial officer of Nisko Projects Electronics & Communications, which is iPoint’s largest shareholder. However, he has decided to leave that firm to pursue other business interests.

David Laing has resigned as finance director of Pinnacle Staffing. Chief operating officer David Hope will be assuming the role of FD. Kevin Parry has been appointed chief financial officer of Schroders. He replaces Stephen Brooks. Parry has been a non-executive director of Schroders since 2003, and was chairman of the audit committee and a member of the remuneration committee.

Peter Colin Murray Joy has been appointed finance director of investment bank and stockbroker Blue Oar. Joy was FD of two Blue Oar divisions – Rowan Dartington and Astaire. He replaces Chris Roberts.

Malcolm Paul, group finance director of WSP Group, has told the company he intends to resign in May 2009. Paul has been FD of the group since its IPO in 1987. Peter Gill has been appointed a director of WSP with effect from 2 March 2009 as part of its succession strategy. Gill was formerly FD of The Rank Group.

Andrew Bonfield has been appointed chief financial officer of Cadbury. He replaces Ken Hanna, who is retiring from the board in April 2009.  Bonfield was most recently CFO of pharmaceutical business Bristol-Myers Squibb.

Ian Degnan has resigned as finance director of Volex Group. He will be replaced, on an interim basis, by Andrew Cherry and will leave the company on 31 January 2009. Cherry was CFO of SpinVox until July 2008.

Picture source


Related Stories


If you enjoyed this article,
why not join our newsletter?

We promise only quality content, tailored to suit what our readers like to see!