Telling the truth about SME life today

FDs’ Excellence Awards 2012: The winners

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Tonight’s FDs’ Excellence Awards, the biggest national celebration of excellence in financial management, picked its winners from an incredible shortlist of candidates. The ceremony took place tonight at the London Marriott Hotel, Grosvenor Square, held in association with ICAEW.

All winners and all candidates shortlisted were as outstanding as ever, honoured in a terrific evening that recognized the contribution they bring to the success of British businesses and sustainable growth.

?Good FDs help instil and maintain confidence in the businesses they work in as well as developing the plans to move the company forward. Their knowledge and expertise will be vital to help restore confidence and build economic growth. The winners this evening demonstrate leadership, influence and inspiration,” said Michael Izza, ICAEW’s chief executive about the evening.

Female candidates dominated the evening, winning four out of seven individual award. The success of female FDs at this year’s awards shows that women are coming to the fore in the world of finance. This is hugely encouraging. An increasing number of successful female FDs is creating greater diversity in British businesses and British boardrooms,” commented Matthew Rock, founder-editor of Real Business.

And the winners are:

FTSE 100 FD of the Year

Angus Cockburn, FD at Aggreko, fought off the very strong competition of Burberry’s Stacey Cartwright, BSkyB’s Andrew Griffith, Rolls Royce’s Andrew Shilston, Next’s David Keen and Imperial Tobacco’s Robert Dyrbus for the sought-after FTSE 100 FD of the Year award. This award, and those for the FTSE 250 and Smaller Quoted FD of the Year, were supported by Lombard for the third consecutive year.

An academy of experts judged the shortlist and picked out the fact that Angus had displayed, in the words of CEO Rupert Soames’s citation, ?technical skill, inspiring leadership and a sharp intelligence, [along] with the human qualities of utter integrity, loyalty and kindness.

FTSE 250 FD of the Year

Wecelebrated Brian McArthur-Muscroft, finance director of data centre provider TelecityGroup.

Smaller Quoted FD of the Year

The award went to Stephanie Quinn, FD of high performance light solutions developer Andor Technology.

FD of the Future

Sarah Moynihan of Marshall of Cambridge won the FD of the Future award, supported by Ernst & Young, fighting off strong competition from the likes of Whitbread’s Matthew Price and RS Clare’s Janet Hall.

Young FD of the Year

Jennifer Phillips of Cambridge Education Group picked up the prize for Young FD of the Year (Private Sector) and Kate Barnes of HiWave Technologies won the Young FD of the Year (Quoted Sector) award.

Private Company FD of the Year

The last category for individual FDs was completed by Peter Aratoon of YourCash, the Milton Keynes-based standalone ATM provider.

Best Bank for Business

The FDs” Excellence Awards also recognise the service providers that support Britain’s finance community. The first one to be honoured was Lloyds Banking Group, who won the Best Bank for Business award for the eighth year running.

Auditor of the Year to Large Firms

BDO was named as the Best Auditor to Large Firms, large firms being defined as those with £50m turnover or higher.

Best Auditor to Small Firms

In the category for best auditor for SMEs, Haines Watts Group was crowned the winner.

Recruiter of the Year

Alexander Charles?was named Recruiter of the Year, beating Hays, Michael Page, Reed, Pure Resourcing Solutions, Robert Half and Robert Walters in the shortlist.

Financial Software Provider for Large Firms

Bristol-based UNIT4 topped the shortlist for firms with £50m turnover or more.

Financial Software Provider for SMEs

IRIS Accounting & Business Solutions?was recognised as the best in this category.

The FDs’ Excellence Awards are hosted by Real Business and CBI, supported by Lombard, Ernst & Young, Lloyds Banking Group, Kaplan and Drax.?

The awards are supported by media partner, the London Evening Standard, and you can read City editor James Ashton’s coverage of the winners.



Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Related Stories


If you enjoyed this article,
why not join our newsletter?

We promise only quality content, tailored to suit what our readers like to see!