Telling the truth about SME life today

First Women Awards 2013: Judges announced

Created by Real Business and the CBI in 2005, and held in association with Lloyds Banking Group, the First Women Awards recognise pioneering UK women who have opened up opportunities for others.

Previous winners include trailblazing, often unsung, women across UK manufacturing, science and technology, as well as iconic leaders such as Nicole Farhi.

Nominations are open until April 5, 2013. Successful candidates will invited to meet the judging academy on Friday May 3. The awards ceremony, hosted by Clare Balding, takes place on June 7 at the London Marriott Grosvenor Square.

Here’s the judging academy, charged with making some tough calls in 2013:

  • Dr Shima Barakat from the Cambridge Centre for Entrepreneurial Learning.
  • Fiona Cannon, director of diversity and inclusion at Lloyds Banking Group.
  • Gaynor Coley, managing director of the iconic Eden Project, and former “First Woman of Tourism and Leisure”.
  • Robin Fieth, chief operating officer at ICAEW (the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England & Wales).
  • Fru Hazlitt, MD of commercial and online at ITV and former “First Woman of Media.”
  • Julia Hobsbawm, “First Woman of Media” in 2012 and the UK’s first professor of networking.
  • Diane Johnson, the “First Woman of the Built Environment” in 2012.
  • Rhian Kelly, the CBI’s director for business environment.
  • Laura Lee, founder of the Maggie’s Centres and “First Woman of Public Service” in 2012.
  • Pinky Lilani OBE, food guru and inspirational entrepreneur, who was recently named among the BBC’s most powerful women in Britain.
  • Dr Liz Nelson, legendary co-founder of Taylor Nelson.
  • Liv Sandbaek, former “First Woman of Science and Technology” and leading light at Accenture.
  • Jill Sheddon, group HR director at Centrica.
  • Larry Sullivan, founder of software pioneer, COINS.
  • Stephen Tetlow, chief executive of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers.

Do you know any trailblazing women in your organisation” Put them forward for this year’s awards. Nominations close on April 5.


Related Stories

More From


If you enjoyed this article,
why not join our newsletter?

We promise only quality content, tailored to suit what our readers like to see!