Telling the truth about SME life today

First Women Awards 2014: Now seeking glass ceiling breakers

Established in 2005 by Real Business and the CBI, and in association with Lloyds Banking Group, the awards aim to unearth women whose achievement and individual actions have helped and are helping to remove barriers and open up opportunities for others to follow.

The First Women Awards (FWA) continue to celebrate the inspirational women making a mark on Britain, recognising pioneering women who are setting the agenda for future generations.

First Women Awards comprises of nine categories:

  • Tourism and Leisure;
  • Manufacturing and engineering;
  • Finance;
  • Science and Technology;
  • Media;
  • Retail and Consumer;
  • The Built Environment;
  • Public Service; and
  • Business Services.

Nominations can also be made for:

  • Lifetime Achievement; and
  • First Women Business of the Year

The FWA has featured some fantastic entrepreneurial women, including: Dame Mary Perkins, founder of specsavers, and Diane Johnson, the first woman to be appointed president of the Electrical Contractors’ Association and pioneer of ‘Wired for Success’.

If you believe that you, or somebody you know, deserves a First Women Award, then now’s the time to nominate. The closing date for nominations is 4 April, 2014, with the awards ceremony taking place at the London Marriott Hotel, Grosvenor Square on 12, June, 2014.

For further information, please visit the awards website or contact Katie Allner on [email protected]

Get involved by tweeting @Real_Business or #firstwomenawards.


Related Stories

More From


If you enjoyed this article,
why not join our newsletter?

We promise only quality content, tailored to suit what our readers like to see!