Government launches business cyber security scheme

With the Government’s ‘10 Steps to Cyber Security‘ in mind, this certification scheme aims to improve the UK’s response to cyber threats. More specifically, it focuses on threats which require ?low levels of attacker skill, and which are widely available online.?

As part of the scheme, companies will be able to qualify for Cyber Essentials and Cyber Essentials Plus certificates, allowing companies to showcase their aptitude in online security and gain a competitive edge in their markets. Firms will already be able to apply for one of the two new Cyber Essential badges.

Companies looking to acquire Cyber Essential badges will have to follow five key steps written up in the Government?s Assurance Framework, which include boundray firewalls and internet gateways, secure configuration, access control, malware protection and patch management.

Prices for certification will scale depending on the size of a company and for how many areas they may wish to certify, but fortunately it has been designed in consultation with SMEs to be ?light-touch and achievable at low cost?.

Furthermore, from 1 October 2014, all suppliers bidding for ICT contracts will need to be certified through the scheme.

Share this story

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Send this to a friend