Telling the truth about SME life today

Meet Britain’s most pioneering business women

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

The shortlists for the 2008 First Women Awards, held by the CBI and Real Business magazine in association with Lloyds TSB Corporate Markets, are published today – and feature pioneering businesswomen across manufacturing, science, business services and finance. For the first year, the awards also honour trailblazing women in the public sector. The First Women Awards, established in 2005, are the annual celebration of pioneering businesswomen. Patron Sarah Brown says: "For me, what’s so inspirational about the First Women Awards is that they celebrate pioneering women; successful role-models who have broken new ground and opened up opportunities for other women."

The full shortlists are:Manufacturing

Leyla Edwards, founder/CEO, KK Finefoods plc Connie Parry, CEO & finance director, Hurns Beer Company Ltd Linda Miller, senior project manager – train system, Tube Lines Rosalind Murray, operations manager, BAE Systems – Submarines Solutions

Public Sector

Joan Stringer CBE, principal and vice chancellor, Napier University Asha Khemka, principal & chief executive, West Nottinghamshire College Su Sayer, chief executive, United Response Julia Cleverdon, Business in the Community Sharon Bamford, UK India Business Council

Science and Technology

Sara Murray, MD, Buddi Ltd Margaret Manning, chief executive, Reading Room Marie Wold, president/CFO, OnRelay Mary Assimakopoulos, Research Partnership

Retail and Consumer

Jenelle Tilling, vice president of marketing, KFC UK Glenys Berd, managing director, Love Those Shoes Kelly Hoppen, managing director, Kelly Hoppen Interiors Sharon Kaur, managing director, Sahara Homes Eileen Cavalier, CEO, London College of Beauty Therapy

Business Services

Sally Norcross, partner, Clarke Willmott Suzanne Liversidge, managing partner of Sheffield Office, Halliwells LLP Moira Elms, UK management board member for marketing & communication, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP Sacha Romanovitch, HR leader, Grant Thornton Ritu Sethi, partner, The Sethi Partnership Solicitors


Christine Hodgson, CFO, CapGemini UK Carla Stent, chief administrative officer and deputy chief financial officer, Barclays Bank plc Kate Grussing, Sapphire Partners Elizabeth Gooch, eg Solutions Pamela Thompson, Eversheds


Sarah Kay, principal, Woods Bagot Sandi Rhys Jones, non-executive director, Simons Group Christina Meyer, MD/founder, Christina Meyer Sustainable Wood products Elizabeth Peace CBE, chief executive, British Property Federation

Tourism and Leisure

Su Cacioppo, personnel and legal director, JD Wetherspoon plc Nicky Dunn, chief executive, Odyssey Arena Jacky Wood OBE, chief executive, British Show Jumping Association

For full details, visit



Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Related Stories


If you enjoyed this article,
why not join our newsletter?

We promise only quality content, tailored to suit what our readers like to see!