Telling the truth about SME life today

Revealed: Britain’s Women of the Future 2011

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Hayley Gait-Golding, 29, who sold her own house to fund her dream of creating the successful healthy snack company BEAR nibbles, was tonight named “Entrepreneur of the Future”.

Launching in 2009 as a self-funded start up, BEAR Nibbles is now a nationally stocked brand after only two years.

Held in association with Shell and attended by HRH The Princess Royal, HRH Princess Badiya bint El Hassan, Cherie Blair and wife of Deputy Prime Minister, Miriam Gonz?lez Dur?ntez, the awards were established by Pinky Lilani OBE and Caspian Media in 2006 to identify the next generation of British female talent.

The awards are dedicated to women aged 35 and under, across business, the professions, the arts, media and science and technology sectors.

Also recognised was 22-year-old Zoe Jackson, who scooped the Women of the Future award in Arts, Media and Culture. Jackson created her own youth-led performing arts company when she was just 16 to inspire other young people, and was predicted by the judges to be ?pivotal in the performing arts industry?. One to watch.

Other winners included:

Business Woman of the Future: CJ Antal?Smith, category director for ASDA

Professional Woman of the Future: Layla McCay, assistant medical director, BUPA

Woman of the Future in Public Service: Elizabeth Anderson, head of foundation affairs at The Aldridge Foundation

Woman of the Future in Science and Technology: Dr Kylie Vincent, RCUK Fellow in Chemistry, University of Oxford

The MBA Star Award: Noa Epstein, consultant, Google (Cambridge Judge Business School)

Young Star Award: Shareen Khaliq from Mulberry School for Girls. Highly commended in this category was 18-year-old Hannah Blyth who discovered two new asteroids during a work experience placement.

Mentor of the Year: Dr Jenny Higham, director of education, faculty of medicine, Imperial College

Woman of the Future Corporate Award: Sky?

The awards were made by a host of VIP guests including HRH The Princess Royal, Cherie Blair, Miriam Gonz?lez Dur?ntez, The Lord Fellowes of West Stafford, director-general of the CBI John Cridland and celebrity writer and broadcaster Dawn Porter.

Previous Women of the Future winners include: beauty entrepreneur Thea Green, founder of Nails Inc; online retail supremo Holly Tucker of; Lisa Smosarski, launch editor of “freemium” magazine Stylist; and Sam Smith, one of the youngest and only female CEOs of a City broker.

The awards ceremony took place at the London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square on Wednesday November 16, 2011. Stay tuned for photos.



Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Related Stories

More From


If you enjoyed this article,
why not join our newsletter?

We promise only quality content, tailored to suit what our readers like to see!